Skip to content

Eating meat every day is boring

February 2, 2017
tags: ,

The above is my quote of the day, stated by Jude, my hilarious Balinese cooking teacher. 


I dedicated this day to the learning about local food and agriculture and found out highly interesting things. Apart from taking the very first cooking class of my life, I took a long walk in the surroundings of Ubud to see some rice fields and what else might be out there. 

Side note: Again, people asked me for directions. !!! Hell knows what I am doing right. Wearing flip flops and a hand bag apparently make me look like I know where I am going. People, carry your stuff in a black plastic bag and walk with a purpose and soon enough you will be asked by a local where the next ATM is. True story from back in Russia. 

Anyways. So I found out that Balinese are self-proclaimed on-and-off vegetarians. They eat vegetarian in everyday life and meat dishes for ceremonies and special occasions. Beef is almost non-existant, maybe because of Hinduism, which I highly appreciate. Go Hinduism! Apart from that, “the cows here wouldn’t be good to eat” is what a bartender just explained to me. They walk around too much and are skinny. So much to that. 

Rice is the staple as you might have guessed and farmers grow a hybrid version these days. Irrigation is organized in a highly complex system within cooperatives, whose leaders get elected for five year terms. Don’t ask me what below sign means exatly, but it has something to do with the rice plots and water. 



Spices are used in abundance and everything is really tasty, not too spicy. Thanks to tourism there is fusion cuisine and slow drip coffee. The craft beer movement is about the only thing that hasn’t reached Indonesia yet and I don’t see locals drink alcohol at all, whether in predominantly muslim Jakarta, christian Raja Ampat or hindu Bali. 
These are the superficial impressions of a tourist so far. However, the statistics tell me that Indonesia has one of the highest child malnutrition rates in the world. At the same time, an affluent urban population is getting hooked on KFC. And not to even mention the controversy around global agribusiness exploiting the country’s natural resources for palm oil production. I will need to dive deeper. 

The more I hang out here in the great wide world, the more I think that eventually I want to do something professionally at the consumer end of the agricultural value chain. I think it could change the world for people to have more awareness of what they eat. Plus I imagine it would be a good excuse to become a true foodie, seeking out the best local and sustainable eating experiences everywhere. 


^_^


^_^


^_^


^_^

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2017 15:10

    This cooking class was very special for us when we were here last year. And guess who we had as our instructor! Ibu Jude! She is wonderful.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    February 3, 2017 23:48

    Katikám, az citrom a legelején? Jó képek. Puszi

    • February 11, 2017 18:51

      Erre kéne kitalálni egy jó magyar nevet: lime, azaz szerintem poénosabban limetni.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    March 14, 2017 08:30

    Egyszerüen zöld citrom?

Leave a Reply

