Skip to content

Lomaiviti Princess I

November 10, 2016
tags: ,

For the second time in my life, I embarked on a multi-day trip aboard a combined cargo/passenger ship. I don’t know why I keep doing this. The first time was in slightly colder waters and is documented here


~

This time, instead of having to take the ship because I didn’t get my visa for Belarus on time to be able to take the train, I simply wanted to meet locals. You can fly from Suva to Taveuni for about 200 USD one-way in half an hour. The Lomaiviti Princess takes 18 hours and costs 60 USD in first class. 

The romanticism of an industrial port in the South Pacific.


~

The action is obviously in economy but this way I managed to talk to a few people and sleep. Joe from Ra for example was going back to his work as a high school teacher in Taveuni after taking a few days off for his father’s funeral. He teaches English in grades 9 and 11 currently and said that most students had great difficulty reading texts in English at these ages. 

Joe checking in.


~

Sai from Taveuni gave me something else to think about. She works 3-4 weeks in a row in her village on the island and then goes to Suva for a few days to spend the money and have fun. Apart from shopping, she said her favorite activity was to just people watch on the bus and take in the big city life. Wow. We are all so similar, all around the globe. 


~

I met Sai on our our stopover in Savusavu, when I was standing next to above family, wondering what to do. She encouraged me to go food shopping with her and bought a piece of lemon pie from a food stall for two Fiji dollars. The excitements of individual travel. 

Eighteen hours is a long time however, and I was more than happy when we finally docked in Taveuni, in incredibly clear waters. Another 20 minute motor boat ride later I landed in Dolphin Bay Diver’s retreat, where I am spending the next two weeks becoming a certified scuba diver. 

Greetings from paradise. 

~

View of Taveuni from Dolphin Bay.


~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 10, 2016 18:37

    Hali Katikám, nem lettél tengeri beteg? Akkor ezek szerint meglepö módon két hétig egy helyben maradsz! Puszi

    • November 10, 2016 23:45

      Érdekes módon nem lettem tengeri beteg. Talán mert adtak matracokat az éjszakára és fekve nem volt olyan veszélyes.

Leave a Reply

